World Series Of Poker

World Series of poker (WSOP), the worlds most prestigious tournament that began in 1970 and in 2008 it is to be the 39th tournament running. This years tournament at Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino has to date received the largest number of entrants and the tournament is to have the largest total prize pool than any other world series before.

This year the first of 55 events kicked off on the 30th of May and players have gone for a long rest to resume play on the 9th of November and the final event is to be on the 11th of November.

Winners of each of the events win a WSOP bracelet and the prize they get is based on the number of entrants. In this tournament the major or most common varieties of each game are featured. The series closes with the $10 000 no-limit holdem event which has attracted thousands of entrants since 2004, with the winner getting a multi million dollar prize.

Harrahs Entertainment has been sponsoring the event since 2005. Ever since the 1971 tournament prizes have been in cash. As the tournament got to be more popular other events were added and in 2006 the tournament now had 45 events and covered a majority of the poker events. Events that have been played at the tournament include Omaha holdem, seven card studs, 5 card stud, H.O.R..S.E, S.H.O.E and Chinese poker.

In 1968 Tom Moore of San Antonio, Texas started the WSOP as an invitational event and held it at a hotel in Reno called the Holiday Hotel and Casino. This first event was won by Crandell Addington. The winner of the 1970 event was Jonny Moss and he was elected as the first world champion of poker and was given a silver cup as a prize. Since then the events kept changing and prize moneys got bigger and better.

In 2005 WSOP was now made into a tournament circuit and players had to deposit a $10000 buy-in and qualifying players become eligible to play in a tournament of champions (TOC), and the first of such an event was won by Annie Duke and is a winner takes all event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *